Down to Earth podcast kicks off new season with REACT Technical Committee focusing on Climate Change x Remote Sensing

Down to Earth podcast

The  Down To Earth: A Podcast for Geoscientists for Geoscientists podcast is back with another season!

Brought to you by IEEE GRSS Remote sensing Environment, Analysis and Climate Technologies (REACT) Technical Committee, this season will take a look at some of the climate concerns that geoscientists are studying using remote sensing technology.

And if you’re feeling down about climate change, have no fear. This is a season of hope! The conversations will circle around not only remote sensing techniques but also, uncovering the possible solutions and innovative projects that are paving the way for politicians, policy makers, and average citizens to mitigate this ever-pressing challenge to life on this planet.

Make sure you follow and subscribe through these channels or wherever you get your podcasts and share with everyone you know!

The podcast can be streamed in any of these platforms:


Our Initiatives

Women Mentoring Women

IDEA Women Mentoring Women Mentorship is an incredible experience that strongly benefits both the mentee and mentor. Our Women Mentoring Women program seeks to connect women across all stages of

Read More »

Professional Development Microgrants

IDEA IEEE GRSS IDEA Professional Development Microgrant Motivation and Goal The IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society (GRSS) Microgrant Program aims to provide financial support to students and young professionals

Read More »

Initiatives Under Development

IDEA Initiatives Under Development Survey on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in GRSS In 2021, we hope to launch the first society-wide survey on diversity, equity, and inclusion within GRSS. Survey results

Read More »

Who We Are

Heather McNairn

Co-Chair, Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada

Shawn Kefauver

Co-Chair, Universitat de Barcelona

Alina Zare

WMW, University of Florida

Vicky Vanthof

WMW, University of Waterloo

Margot Fleming

WMW, University of Waterloo

Qian Zhan

member, China University of Geosciences

Fairouz Stambouli

member, German Aerospace Center

Natalia Caro

member, Universidad Nacional de Colombia

Mariko Burgin

member, NASA Jet Propulsion Lab

Nkeiruka Onyia

member, Lenkè Space & Water Solutions Ltd