GRSS Chapters

About Chapters

Chapters represent GRSS at the regional level and provide an easy way for GRSS members to become involved in geoscience and remote sensing activities locally.  Besides, they offer support and networking for GRSS’ members who are distributed across the globe. 

GRSS has three types of geographic units:

  • Chapters
  • Student Branches/Branches
  • Ambassadors

There are currently 70 Chapters, 30 Student Branches and 12 Ambassadors.

Find a Chapter

Use the map above or select your region to find your local chapter
Red: Regular Chapters; Blue: Student Chapters; Green: Satellite Chapters

RegionChapter LocationOrg UnitContactsChapter EmailWebsite
Region 1: Northeastern USABoston Section, MassachussettsChapterFrancesca Scire Scapuzzofscire@alum.mit.eduieeeboston.org
Region 1: Northeastern USAWestern New York, New YorkChapterEmmet J. IentilucciEmmett@cis.rit.edu
Region 2: Eastern USAWashington, DC & Northern VA, WashingtonChapterZhuosen Wangzhuosen.wang@nasa.govsite.ieee.org/wnv-grss/
Region 3: Southeastern USAAtlanta Section, GeorgiaJoint ChapterRyan BalesRyan.Bales@gtri.gatech.edusite.ieee.org/atlanta-aessgrss/
Region 3: Southeastern USADayton Section, OhioJoint ChapterAndrew Terzuolia.j.terzuoli@ieee.org
Region 3: Southeastern USAEastern North Carolina Section, North CarolinaChapterLinda Haydenhaydenl@mindspring.com
Region 3: Southeastern USAMelbourne Section, FloridaJoint ChapterWilliam Junekwjunek@knights.ucf.edu
Region 4: Central USACentral Illinois Section, IllinoisJoint ChapterWeng Cho Cheww-chew@illinois.edu
Region 4: Central USASoutheastern Michigan Section, MichiganChapterLeland Piercelep@umich.edugrss.eecs.umich.edu
Region 5: Southwestern USADenver/High Plains, ColoradoJoint SectionWilliam Neill Kefauverw.neill.kefauver@lmco.comwww.grss-ieee.org/denver/
Region 6: Western USAAlaska Section, AlaskaChapterFranz Meyerfjmeyer@alaska.edu
Region 6: Western USAMetropolitan Los Angeles Section, CaliforniaChapterRashmi Shahla.grss.officers@ieee.orgieee-region6.org/metrola-grss/
Region 6: Western USASan Francisco Bay Area Chapter, CaliforniaJoint SectionMichael Jeffemichael.jeffe@climate.com, rose.rustowicz@ieee.orgbayareagrss.com/
Region 7: CanadaOttawa Section, OntarioJoint ChapterYifeng Zhouyifeng.zhou@crc.gc.ca
Region 7: CanadaQuebec Section, QuebecJoint ChapterGeorges FournierGeorges.Fournier2@ecn.forces.gc.ca
Region 7: CanadaToronto Section, OntarioJoint ChapterAliReza Sadeghianasadeghi@ryerson.ca
Region 7: CanadaVancouver Section, British ColumbiaJoint ChapterDavid G. Michelsondavem@ece.ubc.ca
Region 7: CanadaWinnipeg Section, ManitobaJoint ChapterDustin IsleifsonDustin.Isleifson@umanitoba.cawebinabox.vtools.ieee.org/wibp_home/index/CH07175
Region 8: AfricaAlgeria Chapter, AlgeriaChapterBoularbah Souissisouissi_boularbah@ieee.orgsite.ieee.org/algeria-grss/
Region 8: EuropeBenelux Section, BeneluxJoint ChapterMark Bentumm.j.bentum@tue.nl
Region 8: EuropeCentral-North Italy, ItalyChapterFrank Marzanogrs29cni@gmail.comcispio.diet.uniroma1.it/marzano/ieee-grs/index.html
Region 8: EuropeCroatia Section, CroatiaJoint ChapterJuraj Bartolicjuraj.bartolic@fer.hr
Region 8: EuropeFrance Section, FranceChapterMauro Dalla Muramauro.dalla-mura@gipsa-lab.grenoble-inp.fr
Region 8: EuropeGermany Section, GermanyChapterIrena Hajnsekirena.hajnsek@dlr.de
Region 8: EuropeNorway Chapter, NorwayChapterAndrea Marinoniandrea.marinoni@uit.nor8.ieee.org/norway-grss/
Region 8: EuropeOman Chapter, OmanChapterYaseen Al-Mullayalmula@squ.edu.om
Region 8: Middle EastSaudi Arabia Section, Saudi ArabiaChapterHaikel Hichrihhichri@ksu.edu.sa
Region 8: EuropeSlovenia Chapter, SloveniaChapterPeter Planinsicpeter.planinsic@um.siwww.ieee.si/section-team/
Region 8: AfricaSouth Africa Section, South AfricaJoint Chapter
Region 8: EuropeSouth Italy, ItalyChapterAntonio Iodiceiodice@unina.it
Region 8: EuropeSpain Section, SpainChapterMaria Pilesmaria.piles@uv.essites.ieee.org/spain-grss/
Region 8: EuropeSwitzerland Section, SwitzerlandChapterOthmar Freyfrey@gamma-rs.ch
Region 8: AfricaTunisia Chapter, TunisiaChapterRiadh Abdelfattahriadh.abdelfattah@supcom.tngrss.ieee.tn/
Region 8: Middle EastTurkey Section, TurkeyChapterGulsen Kayagulsen.taskin@gmail.comsite.ieee.org/turkey-grss/
Region 8: EuropeUkraine Section, UkraineJoint ChapterKateryna A. Arkhypovaieee.eastukraine@gmail.comwww.rocket.kharkov.ua/~euachapter/
Region 8: Middle EastUnited Arab Emirates Section, United Arab EmiratesChapterSaeed AlMansooriSaeed.AlMansoori@mbrsc.ae
Region 8: EuropeUnited Kingdom & Rep. of Ireland (UKRI) Section, UK IrelandChapterLai Bun Lokl.lok@ucl.ac.uk
Region 9: Latin AmericaArgentina Section, ArgentinaChapterJorge Luis Márquezj.l.marquez@ieee.org
Region 9: Latin AmericaBrazil Council, BrazilChapterVeraldo Liesenbergveraldo@gmail.comr9.ieee.org/brazil-grss
Region 9: Latin AmericaChile Section, ChileChapterCarlos Cardenascarlos.cardenas@umag.cl
Region 9: Latin AmericaGuadalajara Section, MexicoChapterIván Villalónvillalon@ieee.orgwww.ieeegdl.org/capitulo-de-geociencia-y-percepcion-remota/
Region 10: East Asia w/o ChinaAll Japan, JapanChapterHiroyoshi Yamadayamada@ie.niigata-u.ac.jp
Region 10: OceaniaAustralian Capital Territory and New South Wales Sections, AustraliaChapterXiuping JiaX.JIA@adfa.edu.au
Region 10: South Asia – IndiaBangalore Section, IndiaChapterJaya Sreevalsan Nairieeegrss.blr@gmail.com, jnair@iiitb.ac.insite.ieee.org/bangalore-grss/
Region 10: East Asia – ChinaBeijing Section, ChinaChapterXiaolong Dongdongxiaolong@nssc.ac.cn
Region 10: South Asia – IndiaBombay Chapter, IndiaChapterAmiya Kumar Tripathytripathy.a@gmail.com
Region 10: East Asia – ChinaChangchun Section, ChinaChapterXiaofeng Lilixiaofeng@iga.ac.cn
Region 10: East Asia – ChinaChangsha Chapter, ChinaChapterShutao Lishutao_li@hnu.edu.cn, ting_lu@hnu.edu.cnsites.ieee.org/changsha-grss/
Region 10: East Asia – ChinaChengdu Section, ChinaChapterLing Tongtongling@uestc.edu.cn
Region 10: South Asia – IndiaDelhi Section, IndiaChapterOPN Callaopnc06@gmail.com
Region 10: East Asia – ChinaGuangzhou Section, ChinaChapterQian Shishixi5@mail.sysu.edu.cn
Region 10: South Asia – IndiaGujarat Section, IndiaChapterShiv Mohanshivmohan.isro@gmail.comwww.ieee-grss-gujaratsection.org/
Region 10: East Asia – ChinaHarbin Section, ChinaChapterBin Zouzoubin@hit.edu.cn
Region 10: South Asia – IndiaHyderabad Chapter, IndiaJoint ChapterMousmi Ajay Chaurasiamousmi.ksu@ieee.org
Region 10: SouthEast AsiaIndonesia Section, IndonesiaJoint ChapterArifin Nugrohoarfnugroho2008@gmail.comindoaessgrss.org
Region 10: East Asia w/o ChinaIslamabad Section, PakistanChapterFahim Ariffahimarif@mcs.nust.edu.pk
Region 10: South Asia – IndiaKerala Section, IndiaChapterRama Rao Nidamanurirao@iist.ac.in
Region 10: South Asia – IndiaKolkata Section, IndiaChapterSusmita Ghoshsusmitaghoshju@gmail.com
Region 10: East Asia – ChinaLanzhou Satellite Chapter, ChinaSatellite ChapterTao Chechetao@lzb.ac.cn
Region 10: South Asia – IndiaMadras Section, IndiaChapterS.S. RAMAKRISHNANssramki@gmail.com
Region 10: SouthEast AsiaMalaysia Section, MalaysiaChapterEwe Hong Tateweht@utar.edu.mygrss.ieeemy.org/
Region 10: East Asia – ChinaNanjing Section, ChinaChapterZebin Wuzebin.wu@gmail.comsites.ieee.org/nanjing-grss/
Region 10: East Asia w/o ChinaSeoul Section, South KoreaChapterSang-Wan Kimswkim@sejong.edu
Region 10: East Asia – ChinaShanghai Section, ChinaChapterFeng Xufengxu@fudan.edu.cnwww.emwlab.fudan.edu.cn/shzh/list.htm
Region 10: SouthEast AsiaSingapore Section, SingaporeJoint ChapterYilong Lu, Siew Kwok Luisklui@sp.edu.sgpersonal.ntu.edu.sg/eylu/ieee_sg_aes-grs/
Region 10: East Asia w/o ChinaTaipei Section, TaiwanChapterYang-Lang Changylchang@ntut.edu.twwww.ieee.org.tw/chapters/index.php?web_class=18
Region 10: East Asia – ChinaWuhan Section, ChinaChapterLefei Zhangzhanglefei@whu.edu.cnsite.ieee.org/wuhan-grss
Region 10: East Asia – ChinaXi'an Chapter, ChinaChapterLicheng Jiaolchjiao@mail.xidian.edu.cn
Region 10: East Asia – ChinaBeijing Section Chapter,GRS29 - Qingdao, ChinaChapter
Region 10: OceaniaQueensland Section Jt Chapter,SP01/COM19, AustraliaJoint ChapterAndrew Ferrisferris.andy@gmail.com
Region 4: Central USAUniversity Of Michigan-Ann Arbor Student Branch Chapter, MichiganStudent BranchTianlin Wangwangtl@umich.edu
Region 6: Western USAStudent chapter University of Southern California Joint Societies Student Branch Chapter, CaliforniaJoint Student BranchKazem Bakian-Dogahehbakiando@usc.edu
Region 8: AfricaHigher School of Communication of Tunis (Sup’com) Student Branch, TunisiaStudent Branch
Khouloud Ouesletisupcom.grss2020@gmail.com
Region 8: EuropeUniv of Manchester Student Branch, UKJoint Student BranchAbir Alabaniabir.alabani@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk
Region 8: EuropeUniv Politecnica de Catalunya Student Branch, SpainStudent BranchPau Fabregat Carrascalpafacarrascal@gmail.com
Region 8: EuropeUniversity of Lisbon Student Branch Chapter, PortugalStudent ChapterConstança Leitãoconstancaeleitao@gmail.com
Region 9: Latin AmericaFacultad Multidisciplinaria de Occidente UES Student Chapter, El SalvadorStudent ChapterAlisson Magaly Sánchez Garcíasanchez_alisson@ieee.org
Region 9: Latin AmericaStudent Branch, Bogotá, Colombia, ColombiaStudent BranchLuisa Páez Cuervogrssud@udistrital.edu.co
Region 9: Latin AmericaStudent Branch, Campinas, Brazil, BrazilStudent BranchSaeid Asadzadehsaeid@ige.unicamp.brwww.ige.unicamp.br/grss/
Region 9: Latin AmericaUniversidad de el Salvador Student Branch Chapter, El SalvadorStudent BranchFernanda Torresieee.grss.ues@gmail.comedu.ieee.org/sv-uesgrss/ - Disclaimer: This site is new and not yet ready, but we provide a preview of how our GRSS members are working on it.
Region 9: Latin AmericaUniversidad del Magdalena Student Chapter, Student ChapterTBD
Region 9: Latin AmericaUniversidade Federal de Mato Grosso do Sul Student Branch Chapter, BrazilStudent Branch José Augusto Martinssbc.ufms.grss@ieee.org grss.chapter.ms@gmail.com
Region 9: Latin AmericaUniversitaria Manuela Beltran Student Chapter, Student ChapterTBD
Region 10: South Asia – IndiaB V Raju Institute of Technology Hyderabad Student Branch Chapter, IndiaStudent BranchVaishnavi Ayyalasomayajulaavaishnavi286@gmail.com
Region 10: South Asia – IndiaGokaraju Ranga Raju Institute of Engineering & Technology-Hyderabad Student Branch Chapter, IndiaStudent BranchK. Abhiram Varmaabhiram040@gmail.com
Region 10: East Asia – ChinaHarbin Institute of Technology Student Branch Chapter, ChinaStudent BranchWeike Liliweike_hit@foxmail.com
Region 10: South Asia – IndiaIndian Institute of Technology-Indore GRSS Student Branch, IndiaStudent BranchHemapriya Rajuhemapriya.rceg@gmail.com
Region 10: South Asia – IndiaIndian Inst of Space Science & Tech Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society Student Branch Chapter, IndiaStudent ChapterJayati Vijaywargiyajayativijaywargiya@gmail.com
Region 10: South Asia – IndiaNarula Institute of Technology Student Chapter, IndiaStudent ChapterNilabhra Palnilabhrapal13@gmail.com
Region 10: South Asia – IndiaNetaji Subhash Engineering College Student Branch, India, IndiaStudent BranchArijit Dearijitde33@gmail.com
Region 10: South Asia – IndiaPanimalar Institute of Technology Chennai Student Branch, IndiaJoint Student BranchVignesh Rmaheshvickey001@gmail.com
Region 10: South Asia – IndiaSikkim Manipal Institute of Technology Student Branch Chapter, IndiaStudent BranchBishal Paudelpaudelbishal22@gmail.com
Region 10: East Asia – ChinaUniversity of Chinese Academy of Sciences (UCAS), ChinaStudent BranchYuming Luluym@radi.ac.cn
Region 10: East Asia – ChinaStudent Branch, Wuhan, China, ChinaStudent BranchChengxi Hanhanchengxiwhu@gmail.comsite.ieee.org/sb-wuhan-grss/
Region 10: SouthEast AsiaTelkom University GRS Student Branch Chapter, IndonesiaStudent BranchIrvan Saugilocana.team@outlook.com, irvanhusni@student.telkomuniversity.ac.idindoaessgrss.org/ieee-grss-student-branch-chapter/
Region 10: OceaniaUniversity of New South Wales Student Branch Chapter, AustraliaStudent BranchJue Zhangjue.zhang@adfa.edu.au
Region 10: South Asia – IndiaSri Sai Ram Engineering College, IndiaStudent BranchShyamkumar Mshyam50400405@gmail.com
Region 10: South Asia – IndiaNational Institute of Technology-Karnataka, IndiaStudent BranchBasavaraju K Sbasavarajuks.207ec012@nitk.edu.in
Region 10: East Asia – ChinaFudan University Student Branch Chapter, ChinaStudent ChapterSijia Lu18110720019@fudan.edu.cn
Region 10: East Asia – ChinaXidian University Student Branch Chapter, ChinaStudent ChapterTian Hu790765364@qq.com
Region 8: AfricaEgypt Ambassador, EgyptAmbassadorMohammed Salemmohammed.salem@guc.edu.eg
Region 8: EuropeIceland Ambassador, IcelandAmbassadorJakob Sigurdssonjakobs@hi.is
Region 8: Middle EastIraq Ambassador, IraqAmbassadorAyad Fadhilamfadhil@gmail.com
Region 8: Middle EastIsrael Ambassador, IsraelAmbassadorStanley Rotmansrotman@bgu.ac.il
Region 8: AfricaKenya Ambassador, KenyaAmbassadorHunja Waithakahunja@eng.jkuat.ac.ke
Region 8: AfricaMorocco Ambassador, MoroccoAmbassadorKamal Labbassilabbassi@ucd.ac.ma
Region 8: Middle EastLebanon Ambassador, LebanonAmbassadorElias M. Nassarenassar@ndu.edu.lb
Region 8: AfricaNigeria Ambassador, NigeriaAmbassadorSamuel Dekolosam.dekolo@gmail.com
Region 8: AfricaCameroon Ambassador, CameroonAmbassadorMary Immaculate Neh Fruimmaculateneh.minf@gmail.com
Region 8: EuropePortugal Ambassador, PortugalAmbassadorPaola Castellanospcossa@fc.ul.pt
Region 10: SouthEast AsiaThailand Ambassador, ThailandAmbassadorChinnawat Surussavadeepop@alum.mit.edu
Region 10: South Asia w/o IndiaSri Lanka Ambassador, Sri LankaAmbassadorSurajit Ghosh s.ghosh@cgiar.org
  • Artboard 1 Technical Committees
  • Artboard 1 Webinars
  • Artboard 1 Publications
  • Artboard 1 Chapters
  • Artboard 1 Opportunities