Martti T. Hallikainen

GRSS President 1996-1997

Martti T. Hallikainen (M’83–SM’83–F’93) received the Doctor of Technology degree from the Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Helsinki University of Technology (TKK), Espoo, Finland, in 1980.

Since 1987, he has been a Professor of space technology with TKK (Aalto University starting 2010). He was a Visiting Scientist with the Jet Propulsion Laboratory and the NASA Goddard Space Flight Center/University of Maryland Goddard Earth Sciences and Technology Center, Baltimore, in 2007– 2008 and with the European Union’s Joint Research

Centre, Institute for Remote Sensing Applications, Italy, in 1993–1994, and he was a Postdoctoral Fellow at the Remote Sensing Laboratory, University of Kansas, Lawrence, in 1981–1983. His research interests include development of microwave sensors for air- and space-borne remote sensing, development of methods to retrieve the characteristics of geophysical targets from satellite and airborne measurements, and cryospheric applications of remote sensing.

Dr. Hallikainen was a member of the Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society (GRSS) Administrative Committee in 1988–2006 and the General Chair of the IGARSS’91 Symposium held in Espoo. He was the President of IEEE GRSS in 1996–1997, and he is currently the co-chair of the IEEE GRSS Awards Committee. He was the Chair of International Union of Radio Science (URSI) Commission F in 2002–2005 and has been the Vice President of URSI since 2005. He was the Chair of the URSI Finnish National Committee in 1997–2005 and has been the national official member of URSI Commission F since 1988. He was also a member of the European Space Agency’s Earth Science Advisory Committee in 1998–2001. He has been the Vice Chair of the Finnish National Committee for Space Research since 2000. He was the Secretary General of the European Association of Remote Sensing Laboratories (EARSeL) in 1989–1993 and the Chairman of the Organizing Committee for the EARSeL 1989 General Assembly and Symposium held in Espoo. He has been a member of the EARSeL Council since 1985. He has also been an honorary life member of IEEE GRSS since 2007. He was a recipient of three IEEE GRSS Awards: the 1999 Distinguished Achievement Award, the IGARSS’96 Interactive Paper Award, and the 1994 Outstanding Service Award. He was awarded the IEEE Third Millennium Medal in 2000 and the Microwave Prize for the best paper in the 1992 European Microwave Conference. (Date: April 2010)

Back to past presidents list