Student Prize Paper Awards

The Student Prize Paper Award was established to recognize the best student paper(s) presented at the IEEE International Geoscience and Remote Sensing Symposium (IGARSS). It is believed that early recognition of an outstanding paper will encourage the student to strive for greater and continued contributions to the Geoscience and Remote Sensing profession. The award shall be considered annually. These awards go to the 2nd and 3rd place students. For the 1st place student award refer to the Mikio Takagi Student Prize.


The (first) author(s) must:

  • contribute more than 60% of the content of the presented paper (if the contribution is less than 60%, the paper is not suitable for a student paper competition and can be submitted to the normal track)
  • be a student
  • be under 33 years of age
  • be a candidate for a graduate degree (PhD students included)
  • be an IEEE member
  • publish the paper in the IGARSS digest
  • be registered at IGARSS
  • personally present the paper at IGARSS 
  • be present at the IGARSS banquet to receive the award


Multiple eligible authors are allowed. An ineligible co-author, or an advisor, must verify on university letterhead that the candidate is a student, under 33 years of age, a candidate for a graduate degree, and an IEEE member on the submittal date of the paper.

Eligibility and Selection process shall comply with procedures and regulation established in IEEE and Society governing documents, particularly with IEEE Policy 4.4 on Awards Limitations.


Award Items

A maximum of two awards in rank order will be presented with honoraria of US$750, and US$500 respectively, and each awardee will receive a Certificate. If there are multiple eligible authors, the honoraria will be shared.

Nominee Solicitation

The Student Prize Paper Award is announced in the Call for Papers for each Symposium, and such papers entered must be so noted. To be considered for the GRSS Student Prize Paper Award, the author must submit a ready-to-publish 2-column, 4-page Proceedings Paper to enable the Award judges to select the Finalist Papers. Each of the submitted papers will be evaluated by the Symposium Technical Program Committee (TPC). Those Student Papers accepted for presentation will be identified and forwarded to the Society Awards Committee Chair.

Selection/Basis for Judging

The selection criteria will include:

  • paper content and quality

  • innovation

  • originality

  • significance

  • quality of presentation

The scoring method shall be established by the Subcommittee.


The award shall be presented at an awards ceremony during IGARSS. The checks will be mailed after clarifying the tax items.

Symposium Awards Committee

  • Francesca Bovolo (Italy): Chair

  • Paul Siqueira (USA)

  • David M. Le Vine (USA)

  • Emmanuel Trouve (France)

  • Mary Morris (USA)

  • Akira Hirose (Japan)

  • Lianru Gao (China)

  • Yong Ge (Australia)

  • Alejandro Frery (New Zealand)

  • Jaya Sreevalsan-Nair (India)

  • Gilberto Camara (Brazil)