IEEE GRSS Outstanding Service Award

The GRSS established the Outstanding Service Award to recognize an individual who has given outstanding service for the benefit and advancement of the Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society. 


GRSS membership is a requirement. Individuals who have received the GRSS Distinguished Achievement Award are not eligible within 5 years.

Eligibility and the selection process shall comply with procedures and regulation established in IEEE and Society governing documents, particularly with IEEE Policy 4.4 on Awards Limitations.


Award Items



The award shall be presented annually to one recipient, provided a qualified candidate is nominated.

Nominee Solicitation

The nomination package including the following materials must be submitted by an IEEE GRSS member via the Award Nomination Tool by December 15:

  • a nomination letter, no more than 2-pages in length, from a GRSS member

  • nomination template can be obtained here or through the Award Nomination Tool

  • a complete curriculum vitae of the candidate

  • at least 2 recommendation letters from individuals familiar with the candidate’s technical contributions and achievements

Recipients will be notified by early March.

Selection/Basis for Judging

The Major Awards Committee (MAC) may give preference to an individual who has demonstrated:

  • leadership
  • innovation
  • activity service
  • duration
  • breadth of participation
  • cooperation

Award Timeline



Award Nominations begin after IGARSS

15 December

Award Nomination deadline

Early March

Award recipients will be notified


The award shall be presented at an awards ceremony during the International Geoscience and Remote Sensing Symposium, IGARSS, together with other IEEE GRSS awards.

Major Awards Committee

  • Alberto Moreira: Chair (Region)

  • Leung Tsang: Co-Chair (Region 1-6)

  • Melba Crawford (Region 1-6)

  • Karen St. Germain (Region 1-6)

  • Mahta Moghaddam (Region 1-6)

  • Jon Benediktsson (Region 8)

  • Sebastiano Serpico (Region 8)

  • Masanobu Shimada (Region 10)