The GRSS Administrative Committee: Part I, Who’s Who

The GRSS Administrative Committee: Part I, Who’s Who

Webinar Speaker: Mariko Burgin

Mariko Burgin

GRSS Executive Vice-President

About the Webinar

In the first of a three-part webinar series, the Executive VP of GRSS, the IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society, Dr. Mariko Burgin, will introduce the structure of the GRSS Administrative Committee, or AdCom. She will introduce the different portfolios and the roles of the Vice Presidents – VP – and Directors of the Society. She will also talk briefly about the Committees that operate under the leadership of AdCom members, and report to VPs and Directors.

Speaker’s Bio

Mariko Burgin (Senior Member, IEEE) received the M.S. degree in electrical engineering and information technology from the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH), Zurich, Switzerland, in 2008, and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from the Radiation Laboratory, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, USA, in 2011 and 2014, respectively. From 2014 to 2015, she was a Post-Doctoral Scholar with the Water and Carbon Cycles Group, Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL), California Institute of Technology (Caltech), Pasadena, CA, USA. From 2015 to 2019, she was a Scientist with JPL, and from 2017 to 2019, she was a Visiting Associate Researcher with the University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA), Los Angeles, CA, USA. She is currently a Systems Engineer in project systems engineering and formulation with JPL where she focuses on advanced technology development for new NASA missions, with a special interest in the early concept stage.

Her research interests include theoretical and numerical studies of random media, development of forward and inverse scattering algorithms for geophysical parameter retrieval, the study of electromagnetic wave propagation and scattering properties, machine learning, feature extraction, analysis of multi-temporal data, computer vision, and data fusion.

Dr. Burgin is a Senior Member of the IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society (GRSS), the IEEE Women in Engineering (WIE), and the IEEE Young Professionals (YP). She was a recipient of two NASA Group Achievement Awards and served on the SMAP Science Team. She is the IEEE GRSS Executive Vice-President, the Treasurer of the IEEE Metropolitan Los Angeles GRSS Chapter, and a Member of the IEEE GRSS Administrative Committee (AdCom).