IEEE GRSS Symposium Prize Paper Award

The GRSS Symposium Prize Paper Award was established to recognize the author(s) who presented at the IEEE International Geoscience and Remote Sensing Symposium (IGARSS) an exceptional paper in terms of content and impact on the GRSS.


Papers orally presented in a Sessions of IGARSS and published in the Proceedings of IGARSS.

Eligibility and the selection process shall comply with procedures and regulation established in IEEE and Society governing documents, particularly with IEEE Policy 4.4 on Awards Limitations.


Award Items

Certificate and check for US$1250. In case of multiple authors, each will receive a certificate and the honorarium will be shared among the coauthors.


The award shall be presented annually to one recipient, provided a qualified paper is identified. If a suitable paper cannot be identified from among those published during the calendar year, papers published in prior years and subsequently recognized as being meritorious may be considered.

Selection Procedure

The Technical Program Chairman of the IGARSS will request nominations from the Session Chairs, and these nominations will be forwarded to the Awards Committee Chair. The Awards Committee (PAC) will accept these nominations, examine the corresponding papers in the Digest, and select an exceptional paper to be recommended to GRSS AdCom. The GRSS AdCom approves the selection.

Selection/Basis for Judging

The GRSS established the Symposium Prize Paper Award to recognize the author(s) who presented at the GRSS Symposium (IGARSS) an exceptional paper in terms of content and impact on the GRSS. In selecting the paper, other factors considered are:

  • quality

  • originality

  • clarity

  • timeliness of the paper

The published versions of the papers in the Digest shall also be evaluated.

Award Timeline

  • Session Chairs submit candidates to the Symposium Awards Chair through the IGARSS online system

  • During IGARSS, session chairs have a form to fill out about whether a paper has been presented, whether it is an award candidate, and provide a score (1-5) for some aspects (scientific quality, slides, replies to questions, etc).


The Symposium Award Committee Chair requests the list of possible candidates and sends it to the Awards Committee by the end of the month

End of October

Committee members each evaluate 20 papers (more or less) in the first round of evaluation. First evaluation is completed by the end of the month

End of November

The best papers from the first round are sent to all committee members for evaluation in the second round. Second evaluation completed by the end of the month

Before 31 December

The Symposium Awards Committee evaluates a short list of papers and selects the Award recipients

Early March

GRSS AdCom approves the Prize Paper Award recipients


Award recipients are notified


The award shall be presented at an awards ceremony during IGARSS of the following year.

Symposium Awards Committee

  • Francesca Bovolo (Italy): Chair

  • Paul Siqueira (USA)

  • David M. Le Vine (USA)

  • Emmanuel Trouve (France)

  • Mary Morris (USA)

  • Akira Hirose (Japan)

  • Lianru Gao (China)

  • Yong Ge (Australia)

  • Alejandro Frery (New Zealand)

  • Jaya Sreevalsan-Nair (India)

  • Gilberto Camara (Brazil)