IEEE GRSS Fawwaz Ulaby Distinguished Achievement Award

The GRSS established the Fawwaz Ulaby Distinguished Achievement Award to recognize an individual who has made significant technical contributions over a sustained period. The contributions shall fall within the technical scope of GRSS. The award shall be considered annually and presented if a distinguished candidate is identified.


The Awards Committee may give preference to an individual who:

  • is an IEEE member with the Grade of Senior Member or Fellow
  • has been a member of GRSS and IEEE for at least 5 years
  • has published papers in IEEE Journals, esp. TGARS within the past 10 years
  • has been engaged in technical aspects of remote sensing for at least 15 years


Individuals who have received the GRSS Outstanding Service Award are not eligible within 5 years.

Eligibility and the selection process shall comply with procedures and regulation established in IEEE and Society governing documents, particularly with IEEE Policy 4.4 on Awards Limitations.


Award Items

Plaque and certificate.


The award shall be presented annually to one recipient, provided a qualified candidate is nominated.

Nominee Solicitation

The nomination package including the following materials must be submitted by an IEEE GRSS member via the Award Nomination Tool by December 15:

  • a nomination letter, no more than 2-pages in length, from a GRSS member
  • nomination template can be obtained here or through the Award Nomination Tool
  • a complete curriculum vitae of the candidate
  • at least 2 recommendation letters from individuals familiar with the candidate’s technical contributions and achievements

Selection/Basis for Judging

  • quality, significance and impact of contributions
  • quantity of contributions
  • duration of significant activity
  • papers published in archival journals
  • papers presented at conferences and symposia
  • patents
  • advancement of profession

Recipients will be notified by early March.

Award Timeline



Award Nominations begin after IGARSS

15 December

Award Nomination deadline

Early March

Award recipients will be notified


The award shall be presented at an awards ceremony during the International Geoscience and Remote Sensing Symposium, IGARSS, together with other IEEE GRSS awards.

Major Awards Committee

  • Alberto Moreira: Chair (Region 8)

  • Leung Tsang: Co-Chair (Region 1-6)

  • Melba Crawford (Region 1-6)

  • Karen St. Germain (Region 1-6)

  • Mahta Moghaddam (Region 1-6)

  • Jon Benediktsson (Region 8)

  • Sebastiano Serpico (Region 8)

  • Masanobu Shimada (Region 10)