IEEE GRSS Regional Leader Award

The GRSS established the Regional Leader Award to promote, recognize and support members within the Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society who have made significant technical, scientific and/or organizational achievements in the areas of interest to the IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing community.


The Special Awards Committee may give preference to candidates who:

  • are an IEEE GRSS member
  • are pivotal and have performed significant contributions to the analysis of remote sensing images in recent years
  • published their results in IEEE GRSS journals or conferences

The award is presented only once to an individual.

Eligibility and the selection process shall comply with procedures and regulation established in IEEE and Society governing documents, particularly with IEEE Policy 4.4 on Awards Limitations.


Award Items

Certificate and US$1500 honorarium.


The award shall be presented annually to one recipient, provided a qualified candidate is nominated.

Nominee Solicitation

The nomination package including the following materials must be submitted by an IEEE GRSS member via the Award Nomination Tool by December 15:

  • nomination template can be obtained here or through the Award Nomination Tool
  • a nomination letter, no more than 4 pages in length, clearly identifying, with evidence and references, the contributions and the impact of the candidate’s work
  • a complete curriculum vitae of the candidate
  • at least 2 recommendation letters from individuals familiar with the candidate’s regional achievements

Selection/Basis for Judging

  • quality, significance and impact of the candidate’s activities

  • quantity of contributions

  • duration of significant activity

  • presence in the GRSS community

Award Timeline

15 December

Award Nomination deadline

Late December

Pre-screening and assignment of 3-4 reviewers for each nomination

Early February

Nomination reviews are completed


Final consideration and votes for tie-breaks of nominations from GRSS-SAC members

Early March

Award recipients are notified. 


The award shall be presented at an awards ceremony during the International Geoscience and Remote Sensing Symposium, IGARSS, together with other IEEE GRSS awards.

Special Awards Committee

  • Jaya Sreevalsan Nair: Chair (India)

  • David Long: Past Chair (USA)

  • Paolo Gamba (Italy)

  • Jeffrey Walker (Australia)

  • Yanfeng Gu (China)

  • Xiaoxiang Zhu (Germany)

  • Xiuping Jia (Australia)

  • W. Linwood Jones (USA)