IEEE GRSS Chapter Excellence Award

IEEE GRSS Chapter Excellence Award

Description: The GRSS established the Chapter Excellence Award to recognize excellence in a GRSS or Joint Local Chapter demonstrated by exemplary local GRSS activities during the previous year. The award shall be considered annually and presented only when a deserving Chapter is identified.

IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society Chapters and combined IEEE Chapters, however chapters that receive the GRSS Chapter of the Year Award are not eligible to receive it again within 3 years.
Eligibility and the selection process shall comply with procedures and regulation established in IEEE and Society governing documents, particularly with IEEE Policy 4.4 on Awards Limitations.

Award Items: Certificate and check for US$1,000 to be used only for Chapter activities.

Frequency: The award shall be presented annually to one chapter, provided a qualified chapter is identified.

Nominee Solicitation: For each Chapter to be considered, the Chapter Chair is required to submit a copy of the previous year’s annual Chapter Report to the AdCom Chapters Committee Chair before January 15. The AdCom Chapters Chair then will compile a synopsis of all Chapter Reports received and may provide a recommendation to the Special Awards Chair before January 31.

Selection Procedure: The Special Awards Chair determines if a suitable Chapter is found for this award. The AdCom Chapters Committee Chair may provide recommendations but does not have a vote in the Awards selection. The award is approved by the GRSS AdCom.

Selection/Basis for Judging: Quantity, quality, breadth and significance of activities and technical meetings during the previous calendar year Active participation of members in IGARSS and other GRSS sponsored activities. The Chapter VP may give preference to a Chapter that:

  • Has shown significant Section membership growth during the past 3 years,
  • Engages officers and members to show leadership in international GRSS activities (e.g. IGARSS TPC, Tech. Cmtes.)

Recipients will be notified by early March.

Presentation: The award shall be presented at an awards ceremony during IGARSS of the following year.