Golden Florin Award

The Italian Centre for Microwave Remote Sensing (CeTeM) and GRSS jointly established the Golden Florin Award to recognize contributions of eminent GRSS members for their outstanding contributions to research in passive microwave remote sensing.


GRSS membership is a requirement.

Eligibility and the selection process shall comply with procedures and regulation established in IEEE and Society governing documents, particularly with IEEE Policy 4.4 on Awards Limitations.


Award Items

The award consists of an exact gold reproduction of the old golden florin, the coin first minted in Italy by the Florentine Republic in 1252 and a certificate.


The award shall be considered every other year, but only awarded when an outstanding recipient is identified.

Nominee Solicitation

The nomination package must be submitted by an IEEE GRSS member, consisting of the following:

  • A nomination letter, no more than 2-pages in length, from a GRSS member
  • A list of the candidate’s significant contributions
  • Nomination template
  • At least 2 recommendation letters from individuals familiar with the candidate’s technical contributions and achievements


Recipients will be notified by early March.

Award Timeline



Award Nominations begin after IGARSS

15 December

Award Nomination deadline

Early March

Award recipients will be notified


The award shall be presented at an awards ceremony during the MicroRAD Conference.

Major Awards Committee

  • Alberto Moreira: Chair (Region 8)

  • Leung Tsang: Co-Chair (Region 1-6)

  • Melba Crawford (Region 1-6)

  • Karen St. Germain (Region 1-6)

  • Mahta Moghaddam (Region 1-6)

  • Jon Benediktsson (Region 8)

  • Sebastiano Serpico (Region 8)

  • Masanobu Shimada (Region 10)