Chapters

View GRSS Chapters in a larger map

Announcements

The GRSS Chapter Committee has been chaired by Paolo Gamba (paolo.gamba-at-unipv.it) since January 2014 under the portfolio of the VP for Professional Activities, Wooil Moon (Wooil.Moon-at-umanitoba.ca).
All Chapters are required to provide to the Chapter Committee Chair a report about the activities in the previous year **by January 15**. Chapter Chairs are reminded that their reports will be considered to select outstanding activities to be funded by the Society, and the Chapters to be considered for the Chapter Excellence Award. GRSS established a Chapter Excellence Award to recognize excellence in a GRSS or Joint Local Chapter demonstrated by exemplary local GRSS activities during the previous year. The award shall be considered annually and presented only when a deserving Chapter is identified.

How to set up a Chapter

The procedure to establish a new Chapter requires four steps.

First of all, one needs to find at least 12 GRSS members “in good standing” willing to be founders of this Chapter. These people must be IEEE and GRSS Members/Senior members/Fellows (but not student members or affiliate members) who paid their fees for the current year.

Then, it is required to prepare a petition collecting the IEEE membership numbers and the signatures of these people. In addition, it is required to write a business plan for the first year of the Chapter.

The third step is asking for the approval of the parent Section, i.e., the Section(s) of the geographical area(s) to which the Chapter pertains. Please note that some of them have other requirements in addition to those listed above (e.g., the members must come from more than one university, must have been IEEE members by at least one year, …)

Finally, these documents and the Section approval must be provided via e-mail to the IEEE MGA staff for final approval, pending the agreement of GRSS officials.

If the chapter to be established is in Mainland China, special conditions apply. The revised petition form (valid ONLY for Mainland China) is available here.

The procedure to establish a chapter is described in detail in the IEEE web site, at http://www.ieee.org/societies_communities/geo_activities/chapters/creating_a_chapter.html, where you will also be able to find a template for the petition.

GRSS Chapters and Contact Information

Chapter Location Joint with (Societies) Chapter Chair E-mail Address
Region 1: Northeastern USA
Boston Section, MA GRS Francesca Scire Scapuzzo fscire@alum.mit.edu
Springfield Section, MA AP, MTT, ED, GRS, LEO Paul Siqueira siqueira@ecs.umass.edu
Rochester/Binghamton/Buffalo/Ithaca/Syracuse GRS Anthony Vodacek vodacek@cis.rit.edu
Region 2: Eastern USA
Washington, DC & Northern VA area GRS Miguel Roman Miguel.O.Roman@nasa.gov
Region 3: Southeastern USA
Atlanta Section, GA AES, GRS Kristin Bing kristin.bing@gtri.gatech.edu
Eastern North Carolina Section GRS Linda Hayden haydenl@mindspring.com
Melbourne Section, FL GRS, AES William Junek wjunek@ieee.org
Region 4: Central USA
Central Illinois Section LEO, GRS Weng Cho Chew w-chew@illinois.edu
Southeastern Michigan Section GRS Adib Y. Nashashibi nuha@eecs.umich.edu
Region 5: Southwestern USA
Denver Section, CO AP, MTT, GRS Michael Janezic janezic@boulder.nist.gov
Region 6: Western USA
Alaska Section, AK GRS Franz Meyer fmeyer@gi.alaska.edu
Los Angeles Section, CA GRS Paul A. Rosen Paul.A.Rosen@jpl.nasa.gov
Region 7: Canada
Ottawa Section, ON OE, GRS Yifeng Zhou yifeng.zhou@crc.gc.ca
Quebec Section, Quebec, QC AES, OE, GRS Xavier Maldague maldagx@gel.ulaval.ca
Toronto Section, ON SP, VT, AES, UFF, OE, GRS Sri Krishnan krishnan@ee.ryerson.ca
Vancouver Section, BC AES, GRS David G. Michelson dmichelson@ieee.org
Region 8: Europe, Middle East and Africa
Benelux Section AES, GRS Mark Bentum m.j.bentum@utwente.nl
Croatia Section AES, GRS Juraj Bartolic juraj.bartolic@fer.hr
France Section GRS Mathieu Fauvel mathieu.fauvel@ensat.fr
Germany Section GRS Irena Hajnsek irena.hajnsek@dlr.de
Italy (Central) Section GRS Simonetta Paloscia s.paloscia@ifac.cnr.it
Italy (South) Section GRS Antonio Iodice iodice@unina.it
Saudi Arabia Section GRS Haikel Hichri hhichri@ksu.edu.sa
South Africa Section AES, GRS Waldo Kleynhans, Jeanine Engelbrecht w.kleynhans@gmail.com, engelbrecht.j@gmail.com
Spain Section GRS Antonio J. Plaza aplaza@unex.es
Turkey Section GRS Kadim Tasdemir kadimt@gmail.com
Ukraine Section AP, MTT, ED, AES, GRS, NPS Nataliya K Sakhnenko n_sakhnenko@yahoo.com
United Kingdom & Rep. of Ireland (UKRI) Section GRS, OE Yong Xue y.xue@londonmet.ac.uk
Region 9: Latin America
Guadalajara Section, Mexico GRS Iván Villalón villalon29@gmail.com
Region 10: Asia and Pacific
Australian Capital Territory and New South Wales Sections, Australia GRS Fuqin Li Fuqin.li@ga.gov.au
Bangalore Section, India GRS Daya Sagar Behara bsdsagar@yahoo.co.uk
Student Branch, Beijing Section, China GRS Bin Peng 112233pengbin@163.com
Beijing Section, China GRS Ji Wu wuji@nssc.ac.cn
Delhi Section, India GRS O.P.N. Calla opnc06@gmail.com
Gujarat Section, India GRS Shiv Mohan shivmohan.isro@gmail.com
Indonesia Section GRS, AES Arifin Nugroho arfnugroho2008@gmail.com
Islamabad Section, Pakistan GRS, AES M. Umar Khattak ukhattak@hotmail.com
Kolkata Section Chapter GRS Animesh Maitra  animesh.maitra@gmail.com
Malaysia Section GRS Hean T Chuah chuahht@utar.edu.my
Nanjing Section, China GRS Feng Jiao jiao_feng423@sina.com
Seoul Section, Korea GRS Joong-Sun Won jswon@yonsei.ac.kr
Singapore Section AES, GRS See Kye Yak ekysee@ntu.edu.sg
Taipei Section, Taiwan GRS Yang-Lang Chang ylchang@ntut.edu.tw
All Japan GRS Akira Hirose ahirose@ee.t.u-tokyo.ac.jp

*Abbreviation Guide for IEEE Technical Societies

AES Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society
AP Antennas and Propagation Society
ED Electron Devices Society
EMB Engineering in Medicine and Biology
GRS Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society
LEO Lasers & Electro-Optics Society
MTT Microwave Theory and Techniques Society
NPS Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society
OE Oceanic Engineering Society
SP Signal Processing Society
UFF Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics, and Frequency Control Society
VT Vehicular Technology Society