View GRSS Chapters in a map.

For help in managing a local chapter we have gathered together some Resources.

 

Announcements

The GRSS Chapter Committee has been chaired by Farid Melgani (melgani@disi.unitn.it) since January 2017 under the portfolio of the VP for Professional Activities, David Kunkee (David.Kunkee@aero.org).
All Chapters are required to provide to the Chapter Committee Chair a report about the activities in the previous year **by January 15**. Chapter Chairs are reminded that their reports will be considered to select outstanding activities to be funded by the Society, and the Chapters to be considered for the Chapter Excellence Award. GRSS established a Chapter Excellence Award to recognize excellence in a GRSS or Joint Local Chapter demonstrated by exemplary local GRSS activities during the previous year. The award shall be considered annually and presented only when a deserving Chapter is identified.

How to set up a Chapter

The procedure to establish a new Chapter requires four steps.

First of all, one needs to find at least 12 GRSS members “in good standing” willing to be founders of this Chapter. These people must be IEEE and GRSS Members/Senior members/Fellows (but not student members or affiliate members) who paid their fees for the current year.

Then, it is required to prepare a petition collecting the IEEE membership numbers and the signatures of these people. In addition, it is required to write a business plan for the first year of the Chapter.

The third step is asking for the approval of the parent Section, i.e., the Section(s) of the geographical area(s) to which the Chapter pertains. Please note that some of them have other requirements in addition to those listed above (e.g., the members must come from more than one university, must have been IEEE members for at least one year, and paid their fees for the current year. The 12 founding members must be members of IEEE for at least 6 months.)

Finally, these documents and the Section approval must be provided via e-mail to the IEEE MGA staff for final approval, pending the agreement of GRSS officials.

If the chapter to be established is in Mainland China, special conditions apply. The revised petition form (valid ONLY for Mainland China) is available here.

The procedure to establish a chapter is described in detail in the IEEE web site, at http://www.ieee.org/societies_communities/geo_activities/chapters/creating_a_chapter.html, where you will also be able to find a template for the petition.

GRSS Chapters and Contact Information

Chapter Location Joint with (Societies) Chapter Chair E-mail Address
Region 1: Northeastern USA
Boston Section, MA GRS Francesca Scire Scapuzzo fscire@alum.mit.edu
Springfield Section, MA AP, MTT, ED, GRS, LEO Paul Siqueira siqueira@ecs.umass.edu
Western New York Section GRS Emmett Ientilucci emmett@cis.rit.edu
Region 2: Eastern USA
Washington, DC & Northern VA Section GRS Zhuosen Wang wangzhuosen@gmail.com
Dayton Section AP, MTT, GRS Andrew Terzuoli a.j.terzuoli@ieee.org
Region 3: Southeastern USA
Atlanta Section, GA AES, GRS Kristin Bing kristin.bing@gtri.gatech.edu
Eastern North Carolina Section GRS Linda Hayden haydenl@mindspring.com
Melbourne Section, FL GRS, AES William Junek wjunek@ieee.org
Region 4: Central USA
Central Illinois Section LEO, GRS Weng Cho Chew w-chew@illinois.edu
Southeastern Michigan Section GRS Leland Pierce lep@umich.edu
Region 5: Southwestern USA
Front Range Section, CO GRS Albin Gasiewski Al.Gasiewski@colorado.edu
Region 6: Western USA
Alaska Section, AK GRS Franz Meyer fjmeyer@alaska.edu
Los Angeles Section, CA GRS Mark Lamb markalanlamb2000@yahoo.com
Region 7: Canada
Ottawa Section, ON OE, GRS Yifeng Zhou yifeng.zhou@crc.gc.ca
Quebec Section, Quebec, QC AES, OE, GRS Yves DeVillers yves.devillers@drdc-rddc.gc.ca
Toronto Section, ON SP, VT, AES, UFF, OE, GRS AliReza Sadeghian asadeghi@ryerson.ca
Vancouver Section, BC AES, GRS David G. Michelson dmichelson@ieee.org
Winnipeg Section, MB AES, GRS Nariman Firoozy firoozyn@myumanitoba.ca
Region 8: Europe, Middle East and Africa
Benelux Section AES, GRS Mark Bentum m.j.bentum@utwente.nl
Croatia Section AES, GRS Davor Bonefacic davor.bonefacic@fer.hr
France Section GRS Mauro Dalla Mura mauro.dalla-mura@gipsa-lab.grenoble-inp.fr
Germany Section GRS Irena Hajnsek irena.hajnsek@dlr.de
Central Italy Section GRS Frank Marzano marzano@diet.uniroma1.it
South Italy Section GRS Antonio Iodice iodice@unina.it
Saudi Arabia Section GRS Haikel Hichri hhichri@ksu.edu.sa
South Africa Section AES, GRS Colin Schwegman CSchwegmann@csir.co.za
Spain Section GRS Maria Piles mpiles@icm.csic.es
Turkey Section GRS Esra Erten eerten@itu.edu.tr
Ukraine Section AP, MTT, ED, AES, GRS, NPS  Nickola T. Cherpak cherpak@ire.kharkov.ua
United Arab Emirates Section GRS Prashanth Marpu prashanthreddym@gmail.com
United Kingdom & Rep. of Ireland (UKRI) Section GRS, OE, AES Nick Wright Nick.Wright@newcastle.ac.uk
Region 9: Latin America
Argentina Section GRS Jorge Luis Márquez j.l.marquez@ieee.org
Student Branch Bogotá, Columbia GRS Laura Daniela Martin Beltran dmartinb@correo.udistrital.edu.co
Brazil Council GRS Raul Queiroz Feitosa raul@ele.puc-rio.br
Student Branch, Campinas, Brazil GRS Emanuel Amorer H. elmoven@gmail.com
Chile Section GRS Carlos Cardenas carlos.cardenas@umag.cl
Guadalajara Section, Mexico GRS Iván Villalón villalon29@gmail.com
Region 10: Asia and Pacific
All Japan GRS Yasushi Yamaguchi yasushi@nagoya-u.jp
Australian Capital Territory and New South Wales Sections, Australia GRS Zhi Huang Zhi.Huang@ga.gov.au
Bangalore Section, India GRS Saroj K. Meher saroj.meher@isibang.ac.in
Student Branch, Beijing Section, China GRS Zhi Yang yangzhi@radi.ac.cn
Beijing Section, China GRS Ji Wu wuji@nssc.ac.cn
Bombay Section, India GRS Avik Bhattacharya avikb@csre.iitb.ac.in
Chengdu Section, China GRS Ling Tong tongling@uestc.edu.cn
Delhi Section, India GRS O.P.N. Calla opnc06@gmail.com
Gujarat Section, India GRS Shiv Mohan shivmohan.isro@gmail.com
Harbin Section, China GRS Bin Zou zoubin@hit.edu.cn
Hyderabad Section, India GRS, CIS Naresh Mallenahalli naresh.k.m@ieee.org
Changchun Section, China GRS Kai Zhao zhaokai@iga.ac.cn
Indonesia Section GRS, AES Arifin Nugroho arfnugroho2008@gmail.com
Islamabad Section, Pakistan GRS, AES Fahim Arif fahim@mcs.edu.pk
Kolkata Section, India GRS Ashish Ghosh ash@isical.ac.in
Malaysia Section GRS Voon Chet Koo vckooo@gmail.com
Nanjing Section, China GRS Tao Cheng tcheng@njau.edu.cn
Seoul Section, Korea GRS Hoonyol Lee hoonyol@kangwon.ac.kr
Shanghai Section, China GRS Feng Xu fengxu@fudan.edu.cn
Singapore Section AES, GRS Hong Bo Sun EHBSun@ntu.edu.sg
Taipei Section, Taiwan GRS Yang-Lang Chang ylchang@ntut.edu.tw
Wuhan Section, China GRS Liangpei Zhang zlp62@whu.edu.cn
Student Branch, Wuhan, China GRS Yonghao Xu yonghaoxu.whu@gmail.com

 

*Abbreviation Guide for IEEE Technical Societies

AES Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society
AP Antennas and Propagation Society
CIS Computational Intelligence Society
ED Electron Devices Society
EMB Engineering in Medicine and Biology
GRS Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society
LEO Lasers & Electro-Optics Society
MTT Microwave Theory and Techniques Society
NPS Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society
OE Oceanic Engineering Society
SP Signal Processing Society
UFF Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics, and Frequency Control Society
VT Vehicular Technology Society