Student Branch Chapter Excellence Award

The GRSS established the Student Branch Chapter Excellence Award to recognize excellence in a GRSS Student Branch Chapter or Joint IEEE Student Branch Chapter demonstrated by exemplary local GRSS activities during the previous year. 


IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society Student Branch Chapters and Joint IEEE Student Branch Chapters are eligible. However, student chapters are deemed ineligible for the award if they have won it in the previous 3 years.

Eligibility and the selection process shall comply with procedures and regulation established in IEEE and Society governing documents, particularly with IEEE Policy 4.4 on Awards Limitations.


Award Items

Certificate and check for US$1,000 to be used only for Chapter activities.


The award shall be presented annually to one chapter, provided a qualified chapter is identified.

Nominee Solicitation

For each Chapter to be considered, the Chapter Chair is required to submit a copy of the previous year’s annual Chapter Report to the AdCom Chapters Committee Chair before January 15. The AdCom Chapters Chair then will compile a synopsis of all Chapter Reports received and may provide a recommendation to the Special Awards Chair before January 31.

Selection Procedure

The Special Awards Chair determines if a suitable Chapter is found for this award. The AdCom Chapters Committee Chair may provide recommendations but does not have a vote in the Awards selection. The award is approved by the GRSS AdCom.

Selection/Basis for Judging

  • Quantity, quality, breadth, and significance of activities and technical meetings during the previous calendar year

  • Active participation of members in IGARSS and other GRSS-sponsored activities.

The Chapter VP may give preference to a Chapter that:

  • Has shown significant Section membership growth during the past 3 years

  • Engages officers and members to show leadership in international GRSS activities (e.g. IGARSS TPC, Tech. Cmtes.)

Award Timeline

15 January

Chapters submit the previous year’s report

31 January

The AdCom Chapters Committee Chair submits the reports to the Special Awards Committee. The Chapters Committee Chairs are invited to submit a recommendation for the Award Winner., perhaps with a recommendation.

1 February – 1 March

The Special Awards Committee reviews the Chapter reports.

Early March

The awarded Chapter is notified.


The award shall be presented at an awards ceremony during IGARSS of the following year.

Special Awards Committee

  • Jaya Sreevalsan Nair: Chair (India)

  • David Long: Past Chair (USA)

  • Paolo Gamba (Italy)

  • Jeffrey Walker (Australia)

  • Yanfeng Gu (China)

  • Xiaoxiang Zhu (Germany)

  • Xiuping Jia (Australia)

  • W. Linwood Jones (USA)