Technical Committees Activities at the Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society (GRSS)

Thursday, July 23, 2020
16:00 CEST
22:00 China Time
10:00 EDT
Speaker: Prof. Irena Hajnsek, ETH/DLR,
IEEE GRSS Technical Committee Chair

Sponsored by GRSS

Technical Committees Activities @ the Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society (GRSS)

Register here.

The Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society has established a number of Technical Committees to actively promote discussion and advances in areas of member technical interests. Activities of the Technical Committee (TC) include networking within the scientific topic, organization of thematic workshops, education of young professionals, and organization of special sessions at IGARSS along with hosting committee meetings open to all IGARSS participants. In this webinar a description of the main objectives of each TC and their activities is given.

Register here.



Irena Hajnsek is a Professor of Earth Obsertvation and Remote Sensing at the Institute of Environmental Engineering, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zurich and German Aerospace Center (DLR) e.V. Microwaves & Radar Institute, Wessling, Germany. She was named a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) in 2014[1] for contributions to synthetic aperture radar imaging using airborne sensors and satellite missions.

Hajnsek obtained her diploma degree with honors from the Free University of Berlin in 1996 and in 2001 got her doctor’s degree from the University of Jena. Between 1999 and 2000, she was associated with the Institut d’Electronique et de Télécommunications de Rennes at the University of Rennes 1 and then worked at Applied Electromagnetics in St. Andrews, Scotland, specializing in EC-TMR radar polarimetry networks. She was a guest scientist at the University of Adelaide in 2005, and since 2010 serves as a coordinator for the satellite mission TanDEM-X. In 2012, Hajnsek became Technical Program Co-Chair of the IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Symposium, following which she became a member of the IEEE GRSS AdCom and in 2016 was appointed as vice president of the IEEE GRSS Technical Activities.